A Day in the Life

Lately I’ve been feeling like I don’t have much of anything running-related to share. I’ve been doing my normal thing, day in and day out, the same ol’ same ol. This has involved a lot of thinking over my last few runs about the whole process of running – fueling pre-run and race, what I like to wear, what does and doesn’t work for me, etc.

And so now, I present to you: Tanya’s Tricks of the Trade (aka, what works for me).

FUEL

A typical weekday

I usually run in the late afternoon on weekdays. This means I somehow have to find a way to get some lunch-type food in me, without eating too much (I couldn’t eat a full out lunch unless I wanted to have it all come back up mid-run).

  • Breakfast (~7am): whole wheat tortilla, egg, spinach, tomato, avocado and some fruit. Black coffee.
  • Snack (11am): a serving of walnuts or almonds, fruit, another cup of black coffee.
  • Lunch-type snack (1pm): Cliff bar or ~300 calorie equivalent before I leave work. Basically something with enough calories, protein, and fiber to tide me over. I usually get home, changed, and am out for a run around 2pm (a 3-5 mile run).
  • Post-run (~4pm) Another snack: A serving of sharp cheddar cheese or hummus, carrot sticks, whole wheat crackers.
  • Dinner: the usual rotation is veggie enchiladas, homemade pizza (with wheat or multigrain dough), bison burgers with blue cheese and sweet potato fries, pasta with some sort of seafood, baked chicken, you get the idea.
  • Dessert: A glass of wine (what, it’s a dessert to me) and/or dark chocolate

Weekends

Weekends are for long runs, lately anywhere from 6-8 miles. I try to run first thing, but need a good hour to get up, have a cup of coffee, and get some fuel in me. Otherwise I will bonk. Hard. My magic mix of fuel?

  • black coffee
  • an energy bar (something smallish, with a good mix of carbs, fiber, and protein, and at least 300 calories)
  • beet juice (you can get it already made from Whole Foods) or if I feel up to making a mess of dishes, fresh made veggie juice in my juicer (kale, apple, beets, ginger, carrot)
  • 1 Tbsp of chia seeds (I add it to my juice)

Beet juice. Sweet, sweet beet juice. It could be the placebo effect, but I am a die-hard believer. I last longer during runs and the runner’s high becomes even more noticeable. I brought some bottles of it to the Cape Cod Half to drink the night before and the morning of, and I really think it played an important role in my race endurance.

General nutrition

It’s an ongoing battle to get enough veggies in my diet. Not because I don’t like them (I was a vegetarian for 7 years, after all), but because sometimes they’re the last thing I want to think about when I’m trying to throw together a quick “I need food now” kind of meal. The frozen foods section of whole foods has become my best friend, especially when I want to have a variety of veggies on hand and don’t want to risk throwing out fresh veggies I couldn’t get through quickly enough. I prefer frozen to canned, because the veggies are less soggy with less preservatives. The tried and trues of frozen food, and how I use them:

  • Butternut squash: add to enchiladas or add salt, pepper, and roast in oven
  • Mixed greens (kale, spinach, collard and mustard greens): stir into pasta, sauces, soups, top on pizza, or serve plain on the side
  • Brussels sprouts: salt-pepper-roast-eat-done!
  • Chopped spinach: served same as mixed greens, or use to make dips
  • California blend/cauliflower: the simplest one – pop in the microwave and there’s your side.

As for canned veggies, I stock up on canned pumpkin. If you have some low-fat coconut milk and the right spices, you can make some really good soups and/or crockpot creations. My favorite is to pour it over chicken, add some sweet potatoes and chick peas, curry, onion, garlic, and other spices. Let it cook for a while in the crockpot and you’ve got yourself a nutritious chicken curry.

CLOTHING/GEAR

Finding the “perfect” running clothes can be hard – especially finding pants that are comfy, keep you warm, and don’t, er, ride up in places you don’t want them to. Here’s some of my favorite gear.

Pants:

Under Armor Cold Gear Compression Leggings

I found these when I was tired of having only one pair of leggings and didn’t want to spend too much money on a new pair. The price was right ($50), so I bought them on a whim on Amazon. I was surprised when I put them on and realized they’re the most comfortable pants. Ever. And they keep me quite warm. I ended up ordering another pair, just to stock up. Sizing: I’m 5’8″ and medium fits me well.

Capris:

CW-X Stabilyx Tights

Good for warm/cool weather. I used these when training for the Cape Cod Half, and loved how supportive they felt. Lots and lots of compression in all the right places, to the point where they are rather slimming. I don’t think I have the most shapely derriere (AKA I don’t really think I have one) but these do wonders for my behind, if this kind of stuff matters to you. I highly recommend them.

Long-sleeved shirt:

ColdGear Infrared V-neck Long Sleeve

Under Armor has a pretty good thing going, apparently. Repeat after me: Thumb holes. This shirt works well as a base layer on cold days, and to wear by itself on cool days. Sizing: I wear small shirts for most brands, but these run small. I wear the medium.

Outer layer:

North Face Full Zip Hoodie 

I’m not sure the link above is the same kind that I got (I found it on sale last year at a running store), but this is the most comfy, well-fitting hoodie I’ve ever had. (I have a size small). I wear it on super cold days, over a long-sleeved shirt, and I never get cold.

Headband:

Nike Cold Weather Reversible Headband

I got this for $10 at an end-of-season sale and it ended up being one of the best investments ever. I have a freakishly small head (it’s true) and usually have problems with headbands, but this one fits nicely, stays over my ears (and keeps my earbuds in) and keeps me nice and warm. Plus it’s nice and fleece-y.

Shoes:

Adidas Energy Boost

Arguably the most important piece of running gear. Right now I’m in love with my Adidas. They’re light, comfortable, and have just the right amount of cushioning and elevation for me. Plus, I think they’re quite nice to look at. I sometimes rotate with Asics Gel Kayano (they have more support, but feel clunky to me) and Saucony Kinvara 4 (they have a lower drop for a more minimal-style feel, which I use for shorter runs).

Socks:

Feetures! Elite Ultra Light No Show Tab

I have to admit, socks don’t seem to make much of a difference to me. I’ve worn all kinds and haven’t noticed much of a difference. I prefer Feetures! though, because they’re a bit thinner and I can feel the compression in all the right places.

So there you have it – how I eat and dress through the week. At some point in the future, I’ll have to do a hot weather edition, and write more about other gear I use, but that’ll have to do for now.

Now if you excuse me, it’s time for a celebration run, followed by bison burgers and some champagne – 5 years ago today, I started dating Mr. Last Legs, and my life changed for the better. Awwww. Happy anniversary, mister.

This entry was posted in Gear, Nutrition, Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment